PetDesk Two-Way Texting Writebacks

Save time and avoid copy-pasting with PetDesk's Two-Way Writeback feature. You can automatically sync your Two-Way conversations with your practice management system in real time to patient records. Empower you and your staff to maintain patient records in accordance with AAHA standards, without the extra work! 

Writebacks are only available to providers on the following practice management systems (PIMS)

  • AVImark
  • Cornerstone
  • Impromed (Infinity & Triple Crown)
  • DaySmart Vet/Vetter ☁️
  • ezyVet ☁️
  • Shepherd ☁️
  • ProVet ☁️
  • Pulse ☁️
  • Neo ☁️

Note: Multi-site customers are not currently supported for this feature. ☁️ = cloud-based PMS

Contact your dedicated Customer Success Manager or PetDesk Product Support to enable the Two-Way Writeback feature. Once enabled, a non-client visible divider will appear in each Two-Way conversation thread, indicating it's ready to go. Only new texts enabled after the writeback are eligible for writebacks.

How do I writeback a conversation in the Two-Way Inbox? 

If the pet owner has a PIMS ID and at least one active pet with a PIMS ID, you’ll be able to select their message to writeback the conversation. 

  1. When logged in to the PetDesk Communications dashboard
    • Click the Inbox tab on the left main navigation panel.
    • Hover over the message and click the three dots () to reveal the Message actions, the last message of the conversation appears highlighted light purple.
    • All prior text messages eligible for writebacks, starting from the message you clicked the button on, will be highlighted with a purple outline as well.
  2. When logged into the Two-Way Inbox on your phone
    • Tap the message you would like to select to writeback
      IMG_0765.PNG
    • Once a message is selected, the Message actions will become visible. All prior text messages eligible for writebacks, starting from the message you clicked the button on, will be highlighted with a purple outline as well. 


       

Message Actions: Save / Archive / Move Save Marker

- Save to Patient Record

Initiates a writeback.

  • Opens the Conversation Options window
    • Select the appropriate patient
    • Archive the conversation
    • Remember the patient and archive selections for future use
    • Add staff initials for reference
    • Include a description of the conversation

The description (40-characters) field is optional, however Staff Initials (4-characters) are required.

Tip: To remember these particular settings for this client, check the box: Remember patient and archive selections

Note: When the conversation is sent to your PIMS, it may be saved with different Staff Initials. Because the conversation data is pushed into your PIMS, the first Staff Initial read from your PIMS is the one associated with the conversation. The initials will have to be manually changed.

 

The file name will populate based on this data: 
petdesk_sms_{mm-dd-yy-hh:mm:ss}_{staffinitials}_{clientfullname}_{patientfullname}

 

- Archive Conversation and Move Save Marker

Ends the conversation and moves it to the Archive sub-tab.

- Move Save Marker

Ends the conversation and leaves it in the Inbox.

Note: If moving the save marker, these particular text messages will not be eligible for writebacks.


What's the benefit of ending a conversation?

Ending a conversation (moving the save marker) groups the associated text messages so you control which conversation types are saved to your PIMS. That group of text messages will be separated from future conversations written back for this client.

 

When a conversation is ended or initiated to write back into a PIMS, the conversation divider will appear letting you know that the Save marker moved, it will include the date as well as staff initials.
 

 

 

If you have any questions or need further help, please use the 'Submit a Request' form at the top of this page to reach out to our Support team.

Was this article helpful?
7 out of 12 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.